Magic: the Gathering in the UK
Surely being able to stay alive with your Lifelink dude is will be whole load better than dying because Lifelink used to trigger and you had to still be alive to receive the life when the trigger resolved.
I've been thinking about this a bit recently. It basically means you play all your tricks before combat damage and you do still get to block and sacrifice - you just don't get to kill their guy at the same time.
Ben Titmarsh said:The combat stuff will take some getting used to, but I think its more in keeping with the flavour of the game.
The biggest annoyance out of all of it for me is this lifelink stuff. The fact that "lifelink" and "when [this] deals damage you gain that much life" used to be identical, and the latter errata-ed to the former. Now they are different and the errata has all been unpicked and they have a significantly different meaning, except for one notable exception Mirrodin Loxodon Warhammer which does receive the errata. Thats bullshit. Just errata everything and it will be a lot clearer.
Agreed Ben but let me just nitpick and say that Mirrordin and other Loxodon Warhammers /must/ behave the same as they have the same English card name. So one or the other will be errata-ed to act like the other. If you see what I mean :)