Demonic Tutor

Magic: the Gathering in the UK

http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feat...


Summary:

- Mulligans now simultaneous

- Battlefield, Cast, Exile

- No mana burn

- Combat damage no longer uses the stack

- Multiple instances of lifelink no longer cumulative

- Deathtouch now a static ability


What the fuck is this shit?

Views: 64

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Everything else i can live with, but combat damage not using the stack??? That. Is. Ridiculous. Too fundamental a change. Oh, and the new duals suck too.

And lets not forget that you no longer get to assign combat damage as you see fit, you have to waterfall through the blockers, (deal lethal to blocker 1, then what's left for blocker 2 etc). Man, noobs are going to be screwed.
'....damage on the stack?' all broken. Man, my tiny mind is hurting.

Mark Walker said:
Everything else i can live with, but combat damage not using the stack??? That. Is. Ridiculous. Too fundamental a change. Oh, and the new duals suck too.

And lets not forget that you no longer get to assign combat damage as you see fit, you have to waterfall through the blockers, (deal lethal to blocker 1, then what's left for blocker 2 etc). Man, noobs are going to be screwed.

Unless they've got deathtouch. In which case ignore.

Mogg fanatic is rooned. ROONED.
I have no problem with this, even the combat damage thing is fine, its just different...
"Mulligans now simultaneous"

How will this work in practise? surely one person will have to say the words "I mulligan" first giving the other person that information

"Combat damage no longer uses the stack"

What the hell? This will be weird mechanically. However I guess in a falvour sense there has always been a niggling doubt in my mind that this happens in the first place, "my guy deals lethal to yours", "bounce in response" is sort of weird when you think about it. This will take a bit of getting used to though.

"Multiple instances of lifelink no longer cumulative"

This definitely makes sense.

What is Exile? RFG?
Exile = RFG zone

Mulligans go like this: player who won the die roll chooses to mulligan or not. Then player 2 chooses to mulligan or not. Then mulligans occur.

So if player 1 chose to mull, and player 2 chose to mull, they both mull at the same time. If player 1 chose to mull and player 2 didn't, then just player 1 mulls (player 2 can't mull after that).

TBH I always hated the 'hahahaha trick with with this bounce spell after your creature was supposed to die ahahaha' so I'm ok with the new damage rules...

Also, I actually love 'Exile' and am growing to like 'Battlefield', now that I've come to think about it. I mean, we have a GRAVEYARD, which, in retrospect, is a ridiculous term really... Exile and Battlefield fit the flavour of the rest of the game now. I like it.
I've just read the massive article on Daily MTG about all of this, i'm cool with most of it. However, considering all these changes are being made for the sake of intuition, this is REALLY confusing:

Lifelink:

The Details: As with deathtouch, this will incur functionality changes in some cards and errata (actually, un-errata) in others. If a card was printed with the word "lifelink" on it, its functionality will change to the new lifelink. However, a bunch of cards were printed with the ability "Whenever [this permanent] deals damage, you gain that much life" on them and got errata to say "lifelink" a couple of years ago because the two abilities were equivalent. Now that they're not, those cards will be reverted to their original wordings. They'll work as printed ... but they won't have lifelink. Only one card—Loxodon Warhammer—has been printed both ways. Since its most recent printing says "lifelink," it will stick with that and have the new functionality.

If people miss this in the huge article I think it will cause much confusion.

-"But had errata that says lifelink"
-"Not any more the creature must deal damage first, so if you take lethal before the effect triggers you won't gain the life UNLIKE the new lifelink rules"
- "Thats bullshit man! - JUDGE!"

Or even

-"So your Mirrodin Warhammer that says When [this] deals damage you gain that much life HAS been errataed to lifelink but my Armadillo Cloak that says the same HAS NOT been erratad to lifelink so your lethal attack with the warhammer allows you to gain life at the same time as damage but my cloak doesn't and I die?"
Yeah the lifelink thing is dumb. Either they should all have the new version or all have the old version. When a card was printed shouldn't be the determinant for what kind of ability it has under the new rules.

Also I suppose that means that you can have "lifelink" AND "when this permanent deals damage ..." but not double lifelink???
i haven't read the article yet so will come back to this when i have but from what i can see everything apart from the no stack damage seems ok.
Thomas David Baker said:
Yeah the lifelink thing is dumb. Either they should all have the new version or all have the old version. When a card was printed shouldn't be the determinant for what kind of ability it has under the new rules.

Also I suppose that means that you can have "lifelink" AND "when this permanent deals damage ..." but not double lifelink???

Yeah thats just ridiculous. They really should've stuck with the errata on this one for the sake of simplicity.
'No mana burn'

Because Spectral Searchlight was Broken!!!
My format-breaking Valleymaker deck I was going to sweep Nationals with is ruined!
Charlie your sacred Husk all of a sudden got a lot worse

Reply to Discussion

RSS

© 2020   Created by Thomas David Baker.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service